Skip to Main Content

Volunteer Fire Department

firefighters putting out fires firefighter with a black and white screen affect

It goes without saying that it would be nearly impossible for us at the Jones County Sheriff's Department to operate successfully without the assistance of Jones County's eighteen volunteer fire departments. These dedicated and professional volunteer firefighters and emergency medical responders, numbering over 340 members, are vital to Jones County's 68,000 plus residents. These departments are:

District 1: Calhoun, Hebron, Pleasant Ridge and Soso VFD's

District 2: Shady Grove and Sharon VFD's

District 3: Rustin and Sandersville VFD's

District 4: Glade, M&M and Powers VFD's

District 5: Johnson, Moselle, Ovett and Union VFD's

District 6: Boggy, South Jones, Southwest Jones VFD's

Jones County Fire Coordinator: Kyle Brooks

Jones County Fire Council President: Chief Gordon Pitts (Ovett)

Jones County Fire Council Vice-President: Chief John Bounds (Sandersville)

Jones County Fire Council Secretary: Chief Bo Burroughs (Powers)

Jones County Fire Council Public Information Officer: Dana Bumgardner (M&M)

Please contact the Jones County Fire Council at 601-428-3187 for information on how to join a Jones County Volunteer Fire Department or for a copy of a fire report.

Crime Tip Hotline
Submit Via Email